When Boxing Gets It In

 

These two know what it means to put on a boxing show

These two know what it means to put on a boxing show

Last night’s lightweight championship boxing match between Juan Manuel Marquez and Juan Diaz was the type of contest that brought to mind the old superfights of yesteryear.  These two warriors put it all on the line for one of the best boxing matches in recent memory.  The experience of Marquez, 50+ fights into a Hall of Fame career, proved to be too much for the youth and flash of Diaz, with Marquez winning the fight by knockout in the 9th round.  All too often, boxing promoters today miss the mark and put together boxing card after boxing card full of matches of fighters that are both unknown and lacking talent.  Meanwhile, mixed martial arts promoters give its fans a complete show of  action packed, competitive fights with each card staged.  Boxing has been ailing for some time now, so it’s cool to see one night where the match actually exceeds the hype.  Marquez and Diaz did themselves and their sport proud.  I hope boxing’s hierarchy was watching.

~ by darrylthewriter on March 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “When Boxing Gets It In”

  1. Boxing is an amazing sport, and it’s great that stuff like this are still happening around. I’ve been trying lately to compile some trivia and facts regarding boxing, would you mind commenting? I don’t know too many people who are experts in this sport so bloggers like you might be my only point of reference. Here is the link: http://triviatar.wordpress.com/2010/04/25/boxing-trivia-facts/

    I’d appreciate your help!

  2. Hello, My name is Milton Luban and I have a blog called Boxing news and results, my link is http://boxing-news-schedule-results.com/ I am contacting you to see if you would like to do a blog exchange on our Links? I thought it would be a great idea for the both of us? Contact me and let me know what you think. You can contact me directly to my personal email address at miltonluban@hotmail.com Thanks!

    • Milton, thanks for the comment, and that sounds great, let’s link up, how exactly do we go about that? Let me know.

      D.

Leave a Reply

 
