Happy Father’s Day

 

Malia Obama and her dad......Happy Father's Day to all

Malia Obama and her dad......Happy Father's Day to all

I’ve gotta be honest:  this “holiday” has not been an easy one for me since my family and I lost my father almost 17 years ago.  In fact, for the first couple of years after he passed away, I generally shut myself off from the world and let the day pass, trying not to let the sentiment of the day get to me.  I’m happy to say that since then, I’ve learned to deal with it and turn it into a celebration rather than something that depresses me and brings me down.  My father was awesome; there is not enough space here to even begin to explain all of the reasons why, but I’ll say this:  there is nothing, I mean absolutely nothing like knowing that your dad is there for you.  Moms are great, (especially mine) but as a man, to have an example to emulate and compare myself to, to have that disciplinary and nurturing influence there……my brother and I were so lucky to have him as long as we did and we are better men for what he taught us and did for us.  17 years without him as done little to diminish my love for him and I often find myself dialing him up to tell him so.  If your dad is still here with you, call him up today and give him his due and don’t wait for next Father’s Day before you tell him again.  Happy Father’s Day, peeps.

~ by darrylthewriter on June 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
